Electoral District Boundaries Commission

Updated 1 yr ago

An Electoral District Boundaries Commission is appointed, in accordance with the Elections Act, within six months of polling day following every second general election.

The Commission is chaired by a judge or retired judge of the Supreme Court, a representative of each registered political party represented in the Legislative Assembly and the Chief Electoral Officer.

The Commission is responsible to review the existing electoral districts and to make proposals to the Legislative Assembly as to the boundaries, number and names of the electoral districts of the Yukon.

The last Commission was appointed in April, 2007 to review the boundaries, following the 2006 general election.

Reports of past Commissions are available here.